Paytm First Games joined hands with Jamaica Tallawahs as their gaming partner for the month-long Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020.

Paytm First Games to sponsor Jamaica Tallawahs in CPL 2020

Indian fantasy gaming platform Paytm First Games signed a deal with the Jamaica Tallawahs to become their exclusive gaming partner for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2020.

Paytm First Games’ logo will be displayed on the chest of Jamaica Tallawahs’ jersey, website, and other promotional spots during CPL 2020.

Jamaica Tallawahs have won the Caribbean Premier League twice and boasts global superstars like Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, and Fidel Edwards in its ranks.

“We are excited to partner with Jamaica Tallawahs, one of the strongest teams in the Caribbean Premier League,” said Sudhanshu Gupta, COO, Paytm First Games.

Since the inaugural edition of 2013, the Caribbean Premier League has witnessed a steady rise in viewership with 312 million people tuning in for the 2019 season - an increase of 56 per cent from 2018.

Paytm First Games aims to expand its reach exponentially courtesy of this new alliance with Jamaica Tallawahs.

“This will help us take Paytm First Games to a wider audience with our exhaustive array of amateur games, Esports, and fantasy gaming. We are expecting to reach millions of new fantasy cricket enthusiasts during this tournament,” hoped Gupta.

CPL 2020, the first major franchise T20 tournament to take place since the COVID-19 pandemic, is expected to break its previous viewership record this year.

“Each year we grow our broadcast and digital footprint, and with us being the first major cricket league to return, we are confident that we will see an increase on last year’s record viewership figures,” claimed Pete Russell, COO, CPL.

Recently, another fantasy gaming platform Mobile Premier League (MPL) joined hands with Trinbago Knight Riders to become the principal sponsor.

The CPL 2020 will take place at two venues in Trinidad and Tobago without any fans due to the COVID-19 safety protocols. It began on August 18 and will culminate with the finals on September 11.

It can be live-streamed in India on the sports aggregator app FanCode.